A Legacy of Putting
People Before Profits.


We are a not-for-profit, full-service financial cooperative that is owned and operated by our members. We currently serve over 15,000 members at our offices in Barre, South Burlington, Springfield, White River Junction, and Windsor. Members of MACCU can take advantage of a variety of services including checkingsavingsauto loanspersonal loans and more. We pride ourselves on our commitment to member service. We offer our members the comfort that comes with offering honest guidance and money-saving products and services.

Mission Statement

Members Advantage Community Credit Union strives to be the primary financial resource for its membership by providing personal service, convenience, and competitive rates.


Members Advantage Community Credit Union became our name on January 1, 2006. Five credit unions have come together to make us who we are today:

Central Vermont Teachers Credit Union was founded in February 1953 and initially offered membership to employees of Barre City, Barre Town, and Montpelier schools.

Windsor-Orange County Credit Union was founded in January 1953 and offered membership to employees of the towns and schools located in Windsor and Orange counties of Vermont.

Caswell Credit Union was founded in 1947 and was originally established to serve employees of the Burlington Public School District. Over time it expanded to offer membership to employees of all the colleges located in Chittenden County.

Covered Bridge Credit Union located in Windsor, Vermont, became part of the MACCU family in 2015. It was founded in 1961 and was the 17th largest credit union in Vermont before merging with MACCU.

Finally, Windsor County South Credit Union located in Springfield, Vermont, became part of the MACCU family in April 2017. It has been serving the Springfield community since 1952, and we have expanded the membership base to include Windham County.

In addition to providing our original field of membership with excellent products and services, we have expanded our field of membership to any person who lives, works, or worships in the following five counties that we serve: Chittenden, Lamoille, Orange, Washington, and Windsor, as well as the following towns in New Hampshire: Lebanon, Hanover, Lyme, Enfield, Canaan, Dorchester, Claremont, Newport, Plainfield, Cornish, Grantham, and Croyden.


What is a credit union?

Credit unions are full-service not-for-profit financial cooperatives that are owned and operated by their members. A credit union is a group of people (identified as members) formed around a common bond such as employment, geographic area, or a specific interest. Typically, the “common bond” is what makes a person eligible for membership within a credit union. Credit unions are formed for the purpose of offering higher quality services and products, as well as superior pricing, to their field of membership.

Volunteers are a large part of what makes credit unions successful. Member-owners volunteer time to serve on the board and committees in order to help make important decisions about the operations of their credit union.

Credit unions operate under the philosophy of “not for charity, not for profit, but for service.”

Why choose us?

Joining Members Advantage Community Credit Union makes you a member-owner. As an owner you are entitled to the most exceptional, personal service we can offer.

Once a member, always a member.